Jalāl ad-Dīn Rūmī, also known as Maulānā (Our Master), was born in the fall of 1207 in Balkh, a major eastern city in what is now Afghanistan. His family settled in Konya, in Turkish Anatolia, a region then called Rum, from which the poet later got the name “Rūmī,” which he is best known in the West.

Rumi’s quotes articulate what it feels like to be alive, it motivates us and helps us understand our own search for love in our daily life. Here are a few of my favorites (although I love them all).

Let me know what you think. I’d like to hear from you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

22 thoughts on “Rumi – A Series of Quotes

  1. Thank you for your post. Recently, I discovered Rumi and love just about everything I’ve read. Your post is interesting and informative. 1207, wow.. He was before his time and more popular in 2015 than any time in history, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rumi is a favorite. The words are peace. They emote peace.
    As I read down my reader this morning there were many irritating words from well-meaning souls trying to promote some sort of external goodness.
    It comes from within, and when one comes in contact with it, it can be felt as peace.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

