Just as ripples spread out when a single pebble is dropped into water, the actions of individuals can have far-reaching effects. – Dalai Lama

ripple

Just like the pebbles, what you sent outward, goes out like ripples in the water and magnifies as it travels. Each of us carries within us the capacity to change the world in small ways for better or worse.

Your attitude, your body language, your actions and reactions, your words, your thoughts and your feelings – they all create ripples – affecting the people in your lives, and they would pass it along, and the impact grows and will be either a source of joy and inspiration or anxiety and pain.

The impact you have on the world is greater than you could ever imagine. You can use the ripple effect to make a positive difference and spread waves of kindness that will wash over the world.

Water Drop

Smiling at a stranger, telling a friend you appreciate them, holding a door open for someone, mentoring someone, making someone laugh, etc., all of these thoughtful gestures can send ripples that spread among your loved ones, into your community, and finally throughout the world.

You have the power to touch the lives of everyone you meet. How you’re going to impact the kind of ripples you send out is up to you.

35 thoughts on “Spread Ripples of Kindness

  1. Thank you. Only yesterday a read another post on mindfulness and how our anger spreads into the world. I realized that, since the election, I’ve allowed my anger, despite my efforts otherwise, to infect so much of what I do each day. I resolved to go for more walks, breathe deeply, and greet everyone I meet along the way with a smile. Your post comes as a serendipitous affirmation of that resolve.

    And your photos! Especially the one with the heart water droplet. I’m always so impressed with photographers who can capture water like that.

    Like

  2. Today I was on the receiving end of something like this. I had just climbed up what looked to me like Mt Everest (in fact it was just a sloping path to the dr’s office). Arriving at the top puffing and panting after several rest stops, I found the surgery door being held open for me by an elderly gentleman with a beautiful smile lighting up his face and telling me to take my time 🙂 So simple, so kind, so grateful.

    Liked by 2 people

Share your thoughts

